Cheddar Cheese Scones

My week so far has consisted of eating dismal salads for lunch since I am too tired to make anything else remotely interesting yet still healthy. I’m planning on spending the weekend looking up better healthy things I can make. PLEASE let me know if you have any ideas! Now that summer is almost over 😦 I am desperate to not get stuck in a rut of routinely making boring food. Speaking of routines, every Tuesday I do a spinning class and last night we had a different instructor that normal and it was the hardest class of my life! I am concerned for my walking abilities today, but I guess that being in pain after a workout is the point…

To lessen my pain, I’ve been drooling over these pictures of Cheddar Scones I made with my mom recently. I am a big scone fan but it wasn’t until recently that I discovered my adoration for savory flavors as well. My mom makes scones using yogurt, which makes them really soft and creamy. The freshly grated cheddar makes them full of cheesy goodness, especially when eaten warm with butter. Yum.

Cheddar Scones

  • 1 Β½ C.unbleached white flour
  • Β½ C.whole wheat flour
  • 2 T sugar
  • Β½ t. baking soda
  • 1 Β½ t. baking powder
  • ΒΌ t. salt
  • 4 T. cold butter
  • Β½ C.freshly grated cheddar cheese
  • 1 large egg
  • grated orange rind
  • 2/3 C. yogurt (you can also use buttermilk)
  • Milk for basting

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
  • Lightly oil baking sheet
  • In large bowl, combine flours, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt
  • Cut butter into bits and work into mixture with fingertips
  • Stir in cheese
  • In separate bowl,Β beat eggs with orange rind. Beat in buttermilk or yogurt
  • Stir wet ingredients into dry just until evenly moistened
  • Turn dough onto lightly-floured surface and knead
  • Pat into circle 3/4 ” thick and cut into eighths. (you can also use a scone pan if you have one)
  • Place onto prepared baking sheet and lightly brush with milk. Bake for 13 minutes

CSC

5 thoughts on “Cheddar Cheese Scones

Leave a Reply

