Spicy Dill Cucumber Pickles

SAMSUNG CSCI feel like I’m about to fall asleep as I type this, so forgive me if it’s completely incomprehensible! I was in Rhode Island with Pat’s family over the weekend and my train was really delayed so I went into work on a Monday running on low steam. The worst. One positive is that I finished three books over the weekend while I was literally doing nothing except sit on the beach – The Vacationers by Emma Straub, Where’d You Go Bernadette by Maria Semple, and Summerlong by Dean Bakopoulos. They were each so different but I loved them all! Definitely recommended. Anyways, I’m going to Oregon for a week on Friday, and while I am excited I kind of dread the week leading up to vacation because I feel like I’m always frantically running around getting ready and making sure my apartment is clean :-(. I can’t wait to be there though!

On a different note, in my food life (and most important life) I’ve been really into pickles lately, trying out almost anything I can get my hands on. Currently, my favorite things to pickle are onions and radishes, but I’m dying to try pickling ramps and watermelon rind. A couple weeks ago when I was in Cape Cod, I got my mom on the pickling train and I taught her how to pickle some cucumbers using fresh dill, both of which she got in her weekly CSA (speaking of, does anyone know of any good CSA’s in New York?). Fresh pickled cucumbers are even better than the store bought version and the brine can be easily customized.

Spicy Dill Cucumber Pickles

  • 1 1/4 cups white vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 tablespoon sea salt
  • 4 cups cucumber spears
  • 2 cloves garlic, whole
  • 2 heads fresh dill
  • 1 tablespoon pickling spice. This can be a combination of a variety of spices – I usually use peppercorn, a bit of red pepper, allspice, and basil. Adjust accordingly to your spicy-ness level preference!

Directions

Stir water, vinegar, sugar, sea salt, and pickling spice together in a saucepan over high heat. Bring to a boil; remove from heat and cool completely.

Combine cucumber spears, garlic cloves, and fresh dill in a large glass or plastic container. Pour cooled vinegar mixture over cucumber mixture. Seal container with lid and refrigerate for at least 3 days.

 

Leave a Reply

