Review: Egg Shop NYC

One of the great things about having a blog is that you can literally do whatever you want with it. Thus, I am using this blog to channel my inner (and not-so-secret) dream of being a restaurant and food critic. So, here goes!

Over the weekend my friend Caroline came to visit from Boston. I’ve been wanting to go to Egg Shop for a while, ever since I saw drool-worthy photos popping up on my Instagram page, but the brunch wait is insane (trust me, another friend and I tried to go last weekend and it was a fail). Since I had a summer Friday, and Caroline was working from my apartment and then taking a half-day, we thought that Friday afternoon would be the perfect time to go. Turns out, we were correct! Egg Shop, located in the Lower East Side, was still pretty crowded but we were able to squeeze into two seats along the window.

Scanning the Egg Shop menu, you’ll notice that it’s broken down into two sections: sandwiches and cruisers (which are bowls). After much debate, Caroline and I decided to go with the Cruiser section and both ordered El Camino, a bowl with a poached egg, avocado, tomato, pulled pork, a fried tortilla, and cilantro. Now I realize that if we were true critics, we would have ordered different items to try them each out but it’s not my fault we were both starving and El Camino immediately caught our attention! In addition, we split a buttermilk biscuit with honey butter and I ordered a black ice tea. You can see another picture of the whole ensemble on my Instagram. I may have discussed this before, but biscuits are basically my guilty pleasure (ok, non-guilty), so if I see one on any menu, or in life, I must eat it. There is nothing better than a buttery, fluffy, and flaky biscuit in my book.

The El Camino cruiser was on point! Although I have to admit when it first came out I thought it looked a bit small. I hadn’t ordered a second poached egg. However, once I dug in, it was evident that this bowl was going to be extremely filling, and I barely finished the last few bites. The flavors were so clean, with the savory and juicy pork, smooth avocado, sweet tomatoes, and fresh cilantro that added some more brightness. I thought that the poached egg was cooked to runny perfection and I loved that I could kind of stir everything together and each bite was different. Plus, the fried tortilla was broken up into long strips, making for some satisfying crunchiness. Delicious. ALSO, I haven’t even mentioned the glory that was the buttermilk biscuit with honey butter. First of all, it was SO BIG and not shaped like a traditional round biscuit. This biscuit was super crunchy on the outside, yet still fluffy and moist on the inside. Caroline and I were slathering on as much butter as would fit on a single piece and shoving it into our mouths. I wished that it would never end. The main thing I love about Egg Shop is the atmosphere. It’s a very tiny venue but at the same time it’s open and airy, with white walls, floor to ceiling windows, and super cool light fixtures. The whole place seemed to be buzzing! Egg Shop is definitely a place I want to come back to and try everything else on the menu and now that I’ve had the food, I’m convinced that the wait during the popular brunch hour is totally worth it.

2 thoughts on “Review: Egg Shop NYC

Leave a Reply

