Coney Island

And yet another item is crossed off my summer bucket list! Last Friday I went to Coney Island with my friend, Kate who was visiting from out of town. It was a very interesting experience to say the least. Immediately I was shocked at how huge it was. I had thought that Coney Island was just a couple rides and a beach, but the rides were endless. It was also so packed in the amusement park area, but really empty in an area that was full of semi-outdoor arcades. The rides also seemed really expensive! Isn’t an amusement park ride supposed to be like $2.00? I hate amusement parks so I guess I’m not up to speed on the typical prices. We did check out the two iconic rides though – the Cyclone and the Wonder Wheel and they were kind of cool! It’s crazy how old they each are, yet they are still fully functioning.

Afterwards we went to the original Nathan’s hot dog stand and I got a fried chicken sandwich (don’t worry, Kate got a hot dog). We walked along the boardwalk, looking over the beach and it was kind of nice with the breeze, although I don’t think I could ever imagine going to the beach there because it was so crowded. There is also this area right on the beach that’s sort of like a jungle gym, but there are grown shirtless men all around working out. They were doing pull-ups, and other exercises on the equipment. Apparently it’s called Muscle Beach, which I thought was hilarious. I’m so glad I finally made it out to Coney Island – I can’t say that I’ll be back frequently, but it was awesome experiencing a corner of the city that I never see.

Leave a Reply

