Block Island

Last Friday I took my first vacation day of the summer (finally!) and Pat and I went to Rhode Island and took a day trip to Block Island. I have to say that we truly outdid ourselves and had a weekend of amazing food, starting with a spontaneous brunch at Noah’s in Stonington, CT. I went to college in New London, CT which is about fifteen minutes away from Stonington Borough, a tiny fishing town right on the coast with beautiful colonial houses and tiny streets. Noah’s brings back a ton of memories for me – from dinners and drinks with all my college friends and their families, and my graduation brunch. The buttermilk pancakes aren’t better anywhere else.

When we got to Charlestown, RI we hit the beach for a few hours which was much needed. I feel like the past couple times I’ve been to the beach this summer it’s rained, but it was so beautiful! After the beach we drove through Misquamicut looking for seafood. At the beach seafood is a must and some of the best places are the super casual, no frills places right on the water. We found Two Little Fish and had amazing lobster roles, fries and slaw. Pat and I both like hot lobster rolls with butter instead of the cold-mayo ones, so we’re always looking for places that serve those.

On Saturday we woke up early for the ferry to Block Island. I can’t believe I hadn’t been to Block Island until last weekend! It was so easy to get there and I loved how being on the island made me feel removed from the rest of the world. Everyone was biking or walking, and there weren’t too many cars. We set off straight to Mohegan Bluffs, which I had heard were sweeping cliffs with amazing views. What I read was right – the views were amazing. Pat and I walked down what felt like hundreds of stairs to get to the beach at the bottom of the cliffs. At the bottom the stairs ended and it was just a steep rocky path that was SO scary! It took me like 30 minutes to get down and Pat had to help me. So embarrassing. Also, all these tiny children were just running up and down the path like it was no big deal! After being at the beach we went back up the stairs and down another barely visible path that opened up right onto the edge of a cliff. It was so crazy! We sat at the edge of the cliff on a rock and ate lunch – probably one of the best views of the day. Block Island also has a bunch of farms so we stopped at one on the way back and it was full of the most random animals – like camels, tortoises, emus, a kangaroo, lemurs, and these donkeys that had zebra stripes on their legs. It was really odd.

We capped off the weekend on Sunday by going back to the Matunuck Oyster Bar and splitting a massive seafood sampler that had oysters, clams, and shrimp. Oh yeah, and I had a Bloody Mary that included an oyster. The past weekend made me realize that it’s important to explore what’s around me in New England! Even through I grew up in New England I feel like there’s so much I still haven’t seen.

One thought on “Block Island

  1. LOL! I couldn’t even think of such a weekend and I’ve lived in Rhode Island for 29 years. It’s ironic how meticulously planned out this trip was. Considering all other factors beforehand, after this trip, you should marry Pat.

Leave a Reply

