Recipe: Arugula & Prosciutto Flatbread with Pomegranate Balsamic Glaze

IMG_2949

I’d tried making flatbread several times before but for some reason I never felt satisfied with the outcome. The crust would either be too doughy or too dry, and the toppings I chose were always underwhelming.Β My recent visit to Otto Enoteca Pizzeria a few weeks ago gave me the thought that there is no reason why I shouldn’t be able to make something almost as good as what I had there, at my own apartment. Borrowing from the pizza I had at Otto, I went out over the weekend and bought the ingredients: fresh whole wheat dough, grape tomatoes, red onions, arugula, and prosciutto. In place of parmesan, I used La Tur cheese from Murray’s, which is a combination of goat, sheep, and cow cheese (and extremely amazing). I felt that something was lacking so I made a balsamic reduction using the pomegranate vinegar I got from The Filling Station and leftover pomegranate seeds. I baked the dough first with olive oil, onions, and tomatoes, and then added the arugula, cheese, prosciutto, and reduction at the end. I was surprisingly impressed with the results! The pomegranate balsamic enhanced the sweetness of the dough and tomatoes, yet balanced the bitterness of the arugula and the saltiness of the cheese and meat.

IMG_5540IMG_2940IMG_2944IMG_2952

Leave a Reply

