Movie: The Great Gatsby

I saw The Great Gatsby last night in a packed theater in Union Square. After waiting 45 minutes in a rather long line, my friend and I managed to get pretty good seats that were almost as comfortable as my bed (shout out to Regal Cinemas! lol). Back to Gatsby. I had been waiting to see this movie for at least a year and a half. I was heartbroken when the release date was pushed back from December to May. I have to wait six more months??

The-Great-Gatsby-2013-Movie-Poster LIBRARY IMAGE OF THE GREAT GATSBY

I think it was well worth the wait. I know there are a lot of Gatsby – Baz Luhrmann edition haters out there, and my opinion is that if you didn’t go into this movie with an open mind, you were wasting your own time plus everyone else’s who had to hear your whining. My opinion of Gatsby didn’t really solidify until this morning when I woke up and it was still on my mind. Luhrmann’s take on Gatsby is as magical, dramatic, and heartbreaking as I found the book when I read it for the first time in high school. I loved the glamour, the fashion, and of course Leo. The film was casted perfectly and I thought the soundtrack (although modern day hip-hop) was an exciting touch. If you haven’t seen it, you should. Period. Watch the trailer here.

Leave a Reply

