Met Gala 2013: Thoughts

IMG_4272

Living on the Upper East Side,which has only been useful on the sunny days when I wanted to go to Central Park, nothing entertaining was really calling my name on a random Monday night. I decided why not casual swing by the Met Gala (since I was invited)? As I strolled towards the premises, I had some self doubt. Am I really taking part in this shameless celeb-stalking culture? Apparently so. I wedged myself into a prime location on the corner of 5th and 81st, right in front of the tent so I had a direct view inside. Looking around, I felt instantly more normal than everyone else. People were climbing on building scaffolding screaming, “MILEY!”, etc. and police officers were making threats left and right. How uncool and unsubtle. My self esteem dropped as I watched the likes of Heidi Klum, Kylie Minogue, and Emmy Rossum smile and pose in glamorous dresses in front of the wall of photographers. Literally, if someone just gave me a chance I know I could be up there with them, instead of lurking amongst us poor peasants eagerly waiting a smile our way from Beyonce. Why. The desperation in the air was growing drastically, so I left. Maybe I’ll finally be discovered at next years Met Gala. Check out the pics below taken from my terrible iPhone camera! In case anyone is wondering, I did ponder taking my Canon, but I didn’t want to be any more pathetic. Although, maybe I could have snuck into the press section. Oh well, there’s always next year.

IMG_4270 IMG_4271

Leave a Reply

